The Board of Directors

  • Iain Cornish

    Iain Cornish - Chairman

    Appointed: Chair of the Board and Chair of the Nominations Committee in April 2020 and independent non executive director in January 2019.

    Skills, competence and experience: Iain joined the Board with over 30 years' experience working in financial services and was Chief Executive of Yorkshire Building Society between 2003 and 2011. During 2007/8, Iain was Chairman of the Building Societies Association. He has also held a number of non executive posts, was a Treasury Select Committee Special Advisor and independent director for the PRA and he also chaired the Financial Services Authority Practitioner Panel.

    In addition to significant experience of the sector, Iain has relevant Risk and Audit Committee experience. Iain joined the Board on 1 January 2019 and was appointed as Chair of the Board and Chair of the Nominations Committee in April 2020.

    Other roles: Iain is the Chairman of St James Place plc and a Trustee and Treasurer of Macmillan Cancer Support.

  • Richard Fearon

    Richard Fearon - Chief Executive Officer

    Appointed: Chief Executive Officer in February 2019 and Executive Director in 2016

    Skills, competence and experience: Richard started his career at Oliver Wyman & Company and spent 10 years at Lloyds Banking Group in senior roles in the mortgages and savings businesses before joining the Society in 2016 as Chief Commercial Officer.

    Richard has an excellent understanding of product development to meet customer needs, as well as strong strategic and commercial skills.

    As Chief Executive Officer, Richard has responsibility for developing and proposing the Society’s strategy, objectives and plans, and maintaining the Society’s business model and culture.

    Other roles: Richard is a member of the UK Finance Mortgages Product and Service Board and a member of the Business in the Community Yorkshire & Humber Advisory Board.

  • Anette Barnes

    Annette Barnes - Independent non executive director

    Appointed: February 2019

    Skills, competence and experience: Annette joined the Board in February 2019, having over 30 years' experience within financial services.

    Prior to joining the Society, Annette was most recently CEO at Lloyds Bank Private Banking Ltd and Managing Director of Wealth & Mass Affluent for Lloyds Banking Group. Her background in operations, technology and customer experience, combined with her recent board and regulatory experience, will further strengthen our Board.

    Annette is a member of the Society's Board Risk Committee.

    Other roles: Annette is a non executive director of GlobalData plc, Old Mutual Wealth Ltd and Old Mutual Wealth Life & Pensions Ltd.

  • Andrew Conroy

    Andrew Conroy - Chief Financial Officer

    Appointed: January 2020

    Skills, competence and experience: Andrew started his career at PricewaterhouseCoopers, before moving to West Bromwich Building Society. He has more than 15 years’ experience in financial services, including a number of senior roles in both building society and banking institutions.

    He has worked within Finance, Treasury and Corporate Strategy and has developed strong technical skills in financial accounting and treasury risk management.

    Andrew is the Chair of the Asset and Liabilities Committee and has responsibility for the Society’s Finance and Treasury management functions, along with oversight of the Society’s recovery and resolution plan and activities.

    Andrew joined the Society in July 2019 as Interim Chief Financial Officer and was appointed to the Board in January 2020.

    Other roles: Andrew is a trustee for Saltmine Trust.

  • David Fisher

    David Fisher - Independent non executive director

    Appointed: March 2012

    Skills, competence and experience: David has 30 years' experience within financial services, beginning his career with Halifax Building Society.

    Prior to joining the Society, he was Chief Executive of Sainsbury's Bank and he also undertakes a number of advisory roles. During his career, he has developed a wealth of knowledge in retail financial services and has strong understanding of risk management, pensions and human resources.

    As Chair of the Board Risk Committee, David's responsibilities include safeguarding the independence of the compliance and risk functions. David is also a member of the Society's Remuneration Committee and Audit Committee.

  • A portrait of Andrew Greenwood

    Andrew Greenwood - Chief Risk Officer

    Appointed: January 2015

    Skills, competence and experience: Andrew joined the Board as Chief Risk Officer in 2015. He started his career as a solicitor in private practice and has worked for the Society since 1998 in a variety of legal, compliance and risk-focused roles.

    He has developed extensive experience of working in a highly regulated environment. His skills and experience enable him to lead the Risk Division, which comprises a number of specialist teams.

    Andrew is responsible for the overall management of the risk control framework of the Society, which includes co-ordinating and managing principal risks and risk appetite.

    He reports directly to the Board Risk Committee and attends all of the Society's management risk committees.

  • Gareth Hoskin

    Gareth Hoskin - Independent non executive director

    Appointed: November 2015

    Skills, competence and experience: Gareth has gained extensive experience acquired over his 30 year career in UK and international financial services, as a director of Legal & General plc and CEO of its International Division, and previously as a Chartered Accountant at Price Waterhouse.

    In 1 January 2019, Gareth was appointed as Vice Chairman and Senior Independent Director.

    As Chair of Audit Committee, his responsibilities include safeguarding the independence of the Internal Audit function and he is the Society's Whistleblowing Champion. Gareth is also a member of the Board Risk, Nominations and Remuneration Committees.

    Other roles: Gareth is a non executive director of The British Diabetic Association, Diabetes UK Services Ltd, Saga Plc and Acromas Insurance Services Ltd, and Advisor to the Board of Green Park Partners Ltd.

  • A portrait of John Hunt

    John Hunt - Independent non executive director

    Appointed: April 2015

    Skills, competence and experience: John began his banking career with Yorkshire Bank, in Leeds. He has held senior posts in a number of major UK and international banks and was a founder member of the Global Credit Data Consortium.

    His areas of particular specialism fall within credit and treasury risk management. John is a member of the Board Risk Committee.

  • A portrait of Lynn McManus

    Lynn McManus - Independent non executive director

    Appointed: September 2017

    Skills, competence and experience: Lynn joined the Board in September 2017 bringing over 20 years' experience within Financial Services.

    She has worked within finance, risk, HR and communications and her most recent role was at Clydesdale Bank, where she was a member of the Executive Team. Lynn is a Chartered Management Accountant.

    Lynn is the designated non executive for workforce engagement and a member of the Audit Committee.

    With effect from 1 January 2019, Lynn was appointed as Chair to the Remuneration Committee. In this role, she is responsible for overseeing the development of, and implementation of, the Society's remuneration policies and practices.

    Other roles: Lynn is a director of Kane LMMG Ltd